The Purpose of Dreams by Livia Bowman

1 Dec

Parallel universes, surreal sequences, and impossible feats are possible in dreams. Dreams can make anything possible, even exploits you never imagined. They can, however, be very cryptic and strange. Why are some dreams pleasant and some disturbing? Dreams do exist to serve a purpose. Dreams occur in order to help organize the dreamer’s thoughts and emotions. Certain objects may serve as symbols for a more complex, metaphoric meaning in a dream. It has been reported that people who undergo much stress often dream about losing their teeth. The stress in their life translates into their dreams as their teeth fall out; giving the dream a sense of desperation and fear. The dream may not explicitly reveal that the dreamer is stressed in real life, but under further observation the dreamer may recognize traits in their dreams that are present in their waking life. For example the feeling of desperation occurs both when the teeth fall out and in daily situations involving much stress. Similarly, many people often have dreams in which a deceased love one will visit them. The dreamer may have been having trouble dealing with the death, or they may simply be reflecting on their new environment excluding their loved one. These dreams exist in order to help the individual come to terms with the experience and move on positively. Dreamers may also experience the sensation of being conscience during their dreams. Maybe they are playing a sport, or dealing with a confrontation and are consciously aware of their actions and words. These dreams are called lucid dreams and are also positive to the dreamer. The dreamer utilizes the conscious time in their dreams to better themselves in different scenarios. Professional athletes have reportedly used lucid dreams to practice their swim strokes or tennis swings; even auditors and singers report practicing their lines in dreams. Ultimately dreams exist in order to help the dreamer become aware of their emotional state and better understand how it relates to waking life.

10 Responses to “The Purpose of Dreams by Livia Bowman”

  1. Giovanna Caravetta December 2, 2012 at 1:42 am #

    I enjoyed reading your article, and I found only simple mistakes with missing commas. I loved that you varied your types of sentences; it made your article flow very well.

  2. Yvette Apatiga December 2, 2012 at 3:31 am #

    I love the topic, dreams are very weird but can be helpful, like how you explained it. You also gave great examples about symbols and explained the phenomenon of lucid dreaming. It flowed nicely and your hook really caught my attention.

  3. Agatha Tesmer December 2, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading your response to this fascinating idea because I myself have always been interested in dreams. I also really love your writing style-great sentence variety.

  4. Daniel Gurrera December 2, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    I loved how your hook caught my attention and i couldn’t stop reading. However, I’m curious if bad dreams help one come to terms with difficulties in their lives, what would be the purpose of purely good dreams?

    • Livia Bowman December 2, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

      I think good dreams are also positive. I have had very positive dreams before, when in waking life, I was very stressed. I’ve dreamed that I was on vacation on a tropical island before, when in reality I was very stressed. I think some dreams may exist to calm you down or ground you when life becomes too hectic.

  5. Bree (@callmebreebree) December 3, 2012 at 2:30 am #

    The concept of dreams is so intriguing to me. We may never really make any true sense of their purpose, but it’s still interesting to think about them. Our brains and bodies are very complex and can do many things that we will never fully comprehend. We are very blessed to have them.

  6. Juliet Hilinski December 3, 2012 at 4:24 am #

    Livia your a champion. Dreams are a really interesting topic to me and I am happy to know that you take interest in them to. I think that you are right in the way that most dreams happen for a reason. I also have heard that when you dream of a person, even if you do not know them, it means that you have seen them somewhere before, even for a slight second, which is pretty awesome

  7. Annie LaRue December 3, 2012 at 5:05 am #

    Your topic was eloquently written and sounded well researched. I liked reading it and it was entertaining as well as informative. I have had a dream when my teeth fell out and i did not know what that meant. That was helpful.

  8. Jacqueline Salgado December 3, 2012 at 5:09 am #

    I really enjoyed reading this. I have always thought that dreams and the way a mind works are very interesting. I thought it was very intriguing that your teeth falling out in a dream can mean a stressful life. I have heard that your mind produces around 5 to 6 dreams every night, but your only able to remember maybe 1 or 2 of them.

  9. Karla Estrada December 3, 2012 at 7:11 am #

    Instantly i was intrigued by your title and once i read your topic sentence i couldn’t wait to learn about the contents of your paper. There were a few grammatical errors however besides that,your paper was great.

Leave a comment