Weekly Papers by Shane Webster

1 Dec

Each week my English teacher gives me and the rest of the class weekly paper to do. The paper is due by 11:59 on each and every Sunday. I have a dilemma with it though; the paper has side effects to it. The thing that is cool about the paper is that if you do it your grade stays at a steady pace to an A. If you choose not to do it and turn it in on or before Sunday then your grade will most likely suffer. Each time that you forget or decide not to do it your grade drops lower and lower. Although it can drastically drop your grade, even if you do it on time and turn it in, it does not significantly help your grade. You can either do it and see very little change in your grade or not do it and watch your grade drop drastically. The paper isn’t all bad though, it gives me a chance to rant on and vent about my issues. I talk about things throughout some papers to get stuff off of my chest. The paper lets me write about anything that is bothering me or just a subject that I find interesting throughout life. As of now nothing is really going on and I just really wish that these papers could help our grade as much as they would hurt it if we didn’t do it. I feel that we are being punished for not doing it but if we do there is no reward or difference to our grade. I don’t feel that the paper should be counted as extra credit. I just think that maybe we should be able to see a significant bump in our grade.

3 Responses to “Weekly Papers by Shane Webster”

  1. Sidney christian December 2, 2012 at 6:22 am #

    I totally agree with your opinion on the weekly paper! Sometimes I have a super busy week and weekend and just don’t even have a second to slip it in and then my grade drops. I wish that maybe there could be an extra credit category on weekly papers so that if you do participate then we would be able to see a difference in our grade going up.

    • Justin Marks December 3, 2012 at 12:55 am #

      Shane, I agree with your ideas behind the weekly papers. It would be nice to have an opportunity to not do a weekly paper every weekend and still recieve full credit. Every month there should be a new assignment on edline that says Weekly Papers for that month. If a student has a busy week and isn’t able to do one weekly paper he /she should not have the drastic fall our grades receive.

    • Andre Jones December 3, 2012 at 2:56 am #

      In life, we are required to do things. Whether we like them or not a task assigned is a task assigned. Yes, the task may be tedious, a waste of time, but it has been assigned to you by someone with my power than you as well. If you do it he is content. Don’t do it, you’re in trouble. You decide!

Leave a Reply

