Taking Notice by Bree Rivas

1 Dec

The world is constantly in motion, and I am not talking about how the earth is constantly spinning. People and society is constantly moving and evolving. I do not think that we stop to take notice of it either. There is so much that goes unnoticed, that skates through just under our radar. Take a moment to think about it. Do you remember what you had for breakfast? Do you know who the first person was you talked to this morning was? Now think about this. Can you recall who the first person was you passed in the hall at school or at work? Do you remember what they were wearing? Did you happen to say hello? There are so many miniscule details in our lives, however, just because they are small by comparison does not make them any less important or valuable.
Honestly, I am not sure that we truly know the people that surround us. I’m not sure that we even know ourselves. There is just an endless cycle of movement that never ceases. As I said before, our world is constantly changing, and people are always in motion. However, not everyone is moving at the same pace. Sometimes people stumble and fall, but who will be there to pick them up? Who will be there to notice their difficulties? I think it’s important for everyone in the world to find a way to express themselves, a way of putting something out there to be noticed. I was looking through six word memoirs about someone who paints trains because they feel unnoticed, my first reaction was “what a genius idea!” I am in no way saying that everyone in the world should go out and paint graffiti on every inch of open space in the world. However, I commend this person for going out into the world and finding a way to express themselves. It is sad that anyone should have to do this in order to receive proper attention.
I believe it is important to slow down for just a few moments, watch the things and people around you, and most importantly take notice of yourself. Sometimes the first step in being noticed is finding the value in yourself. We do not need to be moving at a hundred miles a minute. If we do we’ll look back and realize that we missed out on so much in our lives.

5 Responses to “Taking Notice by Bree Rivas”

  1. Patrick Letrondo December 2, 2012 at 6:19 am #

    Was that artist named JR by any chance?

    • Bree (@callmebreebree) December 3, 2012 at 2:22 am #

      I checked and the website that I found it on didn’t give the name of the artist. Sorry about that. I wish I could give a better answer.

  2. Cristen Lane December 2, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    I agree with Bree. Too many people go unnoticed in the world and whether this is by personal choice or not, everyone’s voice should be heard. I admit that I don’t know myself completely, but if we all take the time to make a new discovery about ourselves we might be surprised as to who we really are. That’s why it is necessary to not rush through life, but to observe the world around you and enjoy it while you can.

  3. Saraa' Hassan December 3, 2012 at 2:00 am #

    I agree with this because we dont take the time to stop and look around us. We’re too busy worrying about the future and whats in store.

  4. Saraa' Hassan December 3, 2012 at 2:01 am #

    I agree with this because we dont stop and pay attention to the world around us. We’re too busy worrying about the future and what’s in store

Leave a Reply

