Serenity Across The World by Kiana Griffith

1 Dec

After finishing a book that I recently read, many questions about aspects of the novel fled my mind. The main character of the novel is a young man, who enjoys focusing on meditation and the teachings of Buddha. Although he was not born Buddhist, he becomes a immediately following his high school graduation, and travels to exotic locations of the world. The first thing I wondered was, what compels one to willingly devote their life to nothing but practicing a religion?  Being that the main character makes the choice to become a monk on his own, what would make him want a life so opposite of the one he had? What does it take to become a Buddhist Monk and what does an individual gain from experiencing this lifestyle?

Following research, I discovered the peaceful, serene aspect of living as a monk. Previously, I thought that monks just sat in a lavender field, meditating and practicing their religion in silence. However, my idea of a monk was not anything close to what I discovered. Monks roam their neighborhood, country, or the world merely to spread peace among others. They do not want to spread their religion, being that they have an open mind when speaking to others about religion, but they do want to share their goals and thoughts about life. Race, religion, and gender aside, monks serve as a peace buffer between disagreements in the world. The belief in which they stand by, to think before you speak and act and to always try to understand another’s point-of-view, is one that I would love to practice myself. “Recognize others, be recognized. Help others, be helped”, a quote from Saltwater Buddha, leapt off the page into my mind. After instantly engraving this quote into my brain, it always scans my thoughts before I act or speak. Although I would probably never have the devotion to become any type of monk, I strongly respect their culture and views of the world, and I will always enjoy learning more about their religion, culture, and ideals.

5 Responses to “Serenity Across The World by Kiana Griffith”

  1. Tyana Ruiz December 1, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

    The values that they live by is quite amazing. Having an open mind to understand other people and to think before you speak is a hard thing. I try to do that too. I also think it is cool that the book got you thinking and that you respect their culture and views of the world.

  2. Livia Bowman December 2, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    I really like the topic. I think it is amazing that people can commit to such a lifestyle. In the United States and other large countries people are so plugged into their electronics and work that it seems unlikely that they can live their life in serenity. I think it is when someone travels away from their comfort zone and separates themselves from societal distractions such as Buddhist monks do, that they can reflect and find meaning and peace in their life.

  3. Tanner Jones December 3, 2012 at 12:34 am #

    This was interesting and easy to read. I think you should have mentioned the title in the beginning because all you said was “I recently read…”. Although you did mention it later it would keep the reader from wondering. I never knew this about monks either.

  4. Rhiannon Parker December 3, 2012 at 5:15 am #

    I found your paper intriguing. I’ve always had this sort of predisposed misconception that monks were part of this weird cultism, however, that is surely not the case. I have now found a whole new respect for monks and their practices.

  5. Rachelle Lonvera December 3, 2012 at 5:44 am #

    I think the work that monks do is so inspiring. To devote your life to simply bringing peace to the world without trying to force your own ideas and opinions down someones throat is not a task many can do. I feel compelled to read this book and learn more about Buddhism. I’m not going to say that I’m going to become a Buddhist now, but I do feel inspired and that quote is something I will try to keep in mind.

Leave a Reply

