Reading by Daniel Gurrera

1 Dec

One of my favorite activities to do in my spare time, besides gaming, is to read. I love reading Science fiction books, because they allow me to get lost in a new world and experience an entirely new way of thinking. Many of the books that I read involve magic, dragons, or a “well kept secret” in the real world. I love those books the most, because they allow me to immerse myself in them much easier, since it is a modified version of real life. For these reason, my favorite book series is Percy Jackson and the Olympians.

Percy Jackson is about Half-bloods, who are children of the Gods and mortals, or demi-gods, that go on quests to save civilization from the Titans and Giants. This book is my favorite because I have always loved the Greek Gods and I think it would be remarkable to live in a world where they exist and actively shape the world. The main character, Percy Jackson, is a son of Poseidon, and he has incredible powers over water, and has the minor ability to speak to horses since his godly father created them. Many of the demi-gods have powers according to their godly parents, such as Zeus’s children have power over lightning or air, Apollo’s children could sing, play music and use bows much better than others, or Hephaestus children were amazing at forging magical items. All of these different powers makes them unique, and makes me want to live in their world despite the danger that all of them face by simply being who they are. The danger being constantly attacked by monsters or a God/Goddess taking vengeance on them if they wronged them. Even though most demi-gods die at a young age, the experience prior to my death would be the most spectacular there is.

I think that everyone should pick up a book and read as often as possible because it helps expand their imagination and allows them to get lost in a world that they have always dreamt about. It is also a good idea to read because it can help your critical thinking and increase your vocabulary. It’s as simple as finding a topic you like and letting the book take hold of you.

2 Responses to “Reading by Daniel Gurrera”

  1. Ryan Andrews December 3, 2012 at 12:22 am #

    I love the article about reading Daniel, I have read some of the those Percy Jackson and the Olympians books and they are really good. I like reading them too. I like the idea of reading more because it stretches were imagination and critical reading skills. I think everybody should read more.

  2. Nicholas Wagenseller December 3, 2012 at 1:36 am #

    Reading is important. The symbols we use for writing are one of the tenets of civilization. Reading is also one of the best forms of entertainment, as it is fulfilling and useful for learning languages. I enjoyed your essay.

Leave a Reply

