Planning Your Dreams by Juliet Hilinksi

1 Dec

Every night I am excited to go to sleep, because I love having dreams. I love falling into a fake world your mind creates, and I love having the ability to let your mind guide you through a series of weird, scary, or even fun events. I have herd a lot about different theories of what a dream really is. For example, I have herd that they are recaps of your days. People have also told me that dreams are your self conscious mind trying to tell you what you really want. I honestly can not trust any of those accusations because some of my dreams are a little to crazy for that. For instance, I once had a dream that I went swimming in a pool of hot chocolate with Marry Popins. I am pretty sure I have never done that before, and never want to in the future. I have looked up what dreams are multiple times and even scientists are not entirely sure what they are. I also have always wondered why some nights you can have a dream and sometimes you can not. Dreams are just a subject full of unanswerable questions. People have also told me that if you try hard enough you can control your dreams, so I had to look up that hypothesis. I learned that they have done a study with a thing called a dream journal. A dream journal is just a book where you write down the dream you had that night when you wake up in the morning. It says that you have to write them down right when you wake up and try to write as many details as you can, otherwise it will not work. If you keep this up for about a month they say that you will have the ability to choose your dreams and what happens in them as they go along. I think that this is a cool experiment and I am excited to try it myself.

9 Responses to “Planning Your Dreams by Juliet Hilinksi”

  1. Harlie King December 2, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    I think that that is a cool hypothesis. If everyone had the ability to control their dreams, there would probably be no nightmares. People can live in a whole new world where they control what goes on and when it happens. If scientist prove that this hypothesis is true, then this could help with many sleep problems such as night terrors and nightmares.

  2. Naomi Kuitems December 2, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    Yes! Dreams are fascinating. I was just learning about them in my phycology class and here are the five scientific reasons why we dream: to satisfy our own wishes, to file away memories, to preserve neural pathways, to make sense of neural static, and to reflect concepts and knowledge. I believe all these hypothesize are valid to some extent and there are probably even more out there. It may depend on the person or a certain situation.

  3. Brickelle Prochnow December 2, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    ohh goodness Juliet I love this! yes like Naomi said we are learning that in psychology it is truly amazing! I think that your idea to trying out your hypothesis with the dream journal is a great, it is a different idea but a new experience.

  4. Livia Bowman December 2, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    I also wrote about dreams. I find it fascinating that some dreams have substance and can help you realize problems, or your emotional state in waking life, and how some may have less meaning, but can include factors such as celebrities or parts of television shows. I think dreams ultimately deal with your environment and help you understand what affects or interests you.

    • Shane Webster December 3, 2012 at 3:26 am #

      I really like this and think that it is super cool. i have heard of this many times and i am pretty sure its called having a lucid dream. Lucid dreams mean that you are completely aware that you are dreaming and have set up a way to understand that. For instance, if you have trained yourself to realize you are dreaming when you see a red ball bounce by you and you take control of whats happening throughout the dream. I also agree with what Harlie had to say about being able to experience a different reality eslewhere and create your dreams and sleep calmly without nightmares.

  5. Jake Lueck December 3, 2012 at 1:34 am #

    This is amazing! I can’t believe that dreams are so complex and that we have not found out a true explanation to what dreams are. I am excited as well to try this journal of dreams because my dreams are extremely weird and never make any sense and being able to control your dreams would be kind of cool.

  6. sophiachiavatti December 3, 2012 at 4:22 am #

    I’ve always wondered what a dream was! I think its strange that the human mind is even working when you are asleep! I always thought that dreams didn’t mean anything and they just happened, but even if they do, it’s just weird because I’ve had some WEIRD dreams and nightmares before. I also think its ironic how much they study the human body and life that they still don’t have a full grasp of what happens in your mind.

  7. Chris Moe December 3, 2012 at 6:47 am #

    I enjoy your interest in dreams and also share a passion for understanding dreams. Dreams are messages given by our subconscious mind but they are not very direct, for instance I have heard that if you get into a car crash in your dreams it means you feel like you have no control of the world around you. Crazy dreams and serious dreams all carry messages but it is the ones who look for their meanings who understand them most.

  8. Amalia Moghadasnia December 3, 2012 at 6:49 am #

    Dreams are an amazing view into the psyche. It can remind you of things from your past that you’ve forgotten or it can help to deal with things.

Leave a Reply

